Who Am I?

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-10-56-43-am

Jennifer Peacock-Smith is an emerging memoirist in the process of writing her first full-length memoir through 2017. Author of “The Lion and the Peacock”. Blogger here on WordPress, Regular guest blogger on The Mighty, Surviving My Past, and One Stop Fiction Authors’ Group.

Jennifer is a South African Australian who has lived in many different countries around the world. She is a Third Culture Kid (TCK), dual-citizen, world citizen. The issues of belonging and acceptance and tribes and roles in Family-of-Origin are fascinating to her and form the backbone of much of her writing. A chronic emotional abuse survivor she is committed to surviving and thriving, redemption, encouragement of all kinds and bringing joy and meaning to my life and others.

From Jennifer:

“People have spoken for me and overruled me my entire life. They have controlled and tried to define me in all kinds of ways. I was born into anxiety and have never felt safety but I am working hard on getting there. This has affected my soul and my body in untold ways, but it has also meant that I never found my voice. I have felt a strange combination of constantly standing out and always being different, highlighted yet invisible, like a purple onion in the bag of brown onions. I have been a leader, a teacher, a mentor, but deep inside I had no idea who I was, or what I wanted, other than the break the chains that bound me (which I could not define) and to break the patterns of behaviour that poisoned my family of origin. The voice in me was there and I kind of always I knew it, I just didn’t know how to find it or how to use it.

I have hated being voiceless, hiding and wearing a mask my whole life and as I break out I want to stand on a rooftop and shout my stories! …. 2016 was a year of writing writing writing … and 2017 is the year that it starts to unfold into my first memoir. Although my voice is still new, fragile, scared even, after a lifetime of being smacked on the head every time I pop up, like “whack-a-mole”,  I am starting to find my way”.

 

 

img_3811

Where I hang out:
@JPeaSmith
“Here she comes, running, out of prison and off the pedestal: chains off, crown off, halo off, just a live woman.”  ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman

 

3 thoughts on “Who Am I?

Leave a Reply

