#NaNoWriMo2016 Day 1:

This is my first year participating in the National Novel Writing Month for 2016 (#NaNoWriMo2016). I actually signed on a while back and forgot about it, and to be honest I didn’t really know what was going on.

As you all know I am writing my story, but what you probably don’t know is that it is already at least 3 books long. It doesn’t hugely work as a string of chronology but I have been struggling with how to group the parts of the story that mean so much and I think have a story to tell, in the right way for flow, hooks and meaning. It was starting to get quite overwhelming.

Then as I was about to fall asleep on Monday night (which just happened to be October 31st) I had an epiphany… and decided to start a whole new book the next morning. So when I woke Tuesday morning to also see that it was day one of #NaNoWriMo2016 I was so excited!

I am not sure that I will get all 85K words done by the end of November but my aim is to have at least 60K done by then and the whole book finished by the end of the year. I am soooo excited, and glad that I am starting from this end rather than where I had planned to. The first book that I had planned will still be as is, but it will come out second instead of first… more on that later, I have writing to do!

Update:

Yesterday was day one and I did 3.8K words, and I am hoping for more today, but I know that there will be days when I will get nothing done… but watch this space 🙂

(I think that this hotel room is going to get messy the next few days!)

Leave a Reply

