Beneath The Skin by Kyla Stone.

img_9495I recently had the privilege of reading this book (out of my own free choice I might add, after reading her blurb) and I loved it. I did not think that I had any interest in the Young Adult (YA) genre after trying a few recently and not enjoy them at all, but this was refreshingly brilliant.
There is absolutely nothing fluffy about this book at all as it tackles some really deep and important issues like cutting and abuse. I don’t take either of these (or the other issues raised in the book) lightly and I don’t like reading about them unless the author is able to walk that fine line between giving enough detail to make the situation real without going so far as to trigger people or frighten them. I started reading another book about sexual abuse recently and I had to put it down after the first few chapters as the details were way too explicit. This book on the other hand was quite different. I know that we each have out own level of triggers and discomfort but I felt that Kyla did a great job.
I am not sure exactly where the exact line is but I think that Kyla treads it perfectly as she pulls the reader in to the emotions created in each situation without going overboard. There are no easy fixes or fairy God Mothers, and there are no short cuts. It is very raw and realistic. A really good read if you are interested in any of these issues or want to get inside and understand the complicated web that creates these messes.
BENEATH THE SKIN is available in print and ebook from Amazon. It is normally $4.99 but is on sale from today through the second of January for only 99c. 
Kyla Stone is the author and you can find her on Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads.
 
Click here to sign up for her Email List for Sales and New Releases, in my opinion she is an author to watch 🙂
When I emailed her to ask if she had anything to add she replied that she would love people to read her book and to remind them that all reviews on Goodreads and Amazon much appreciated! 
2 thoughts on “Beneath The Skin by Kyla Stone.

Leave a Reply

