Learning Facebook:

IMG_6082(Repost from my old blog from when I started Twitter):

So today we are going to go through the basics of having a Facebook PAGE. This is super confusing because those of you who have Fb already will know that most people refer to their Fb accounts as their Fb page. So I need to start off by being very clear that when I talk about a Fb PAGE I am talking about what they call a public page. The difference is this:

I have a private Fb account (FbAccount). This is me: Jen Smith (please don’t send me a Friend Request, as this is my private account and I don’t accept requests from anyone but close family). Also please don’t send requests to each other either, as during this process of setting up Facebook Pages it will add to the confusion.

This on the other hand is my Fb PAGE (FbPage): Jennifer Peacock-Smith. You are very welcome to “like” it, and in fact please do so that you can follow along as all the posts here will be posted there. As you each build a page I will “like” yours as well, and I encourage you to “like” each others.

If you compare the two, the one that is privately me (FbAccount) looks very different to the one that is publicly me (FbPage). The major difference is that for the FbAccount we need to be mutual friends to follow each other. We send Friend Requests and upon acceptance we can see each other clearly.

For the FbPage on the other hand the communication is one way. If you “like” me, you are following me, you can see everything that I post, and I will show up on your newsfeed if you want me to. But I can’t see YOU and your private account in any way shape or form.

Say for example I am a singer  and “PopStar” is my stage name, but my real name is Fred. I can’t have a FbPage for PopStar without having a FbAccount for Fred. My  Fred Facebook can have friends it is the two way valve and everyone who can me, I can see too. As Fred I save this for my family and close friends that I trust. But PopStar is my public a FbPage and 3 million people follow me there. They click “like” on his page and they are my fans. I have no obligation to follow them at all, because it is a one way valve. When they follow me they have no expectations of me following them back because my FbPage can’t follow people. I hope that that makes sense…

So here is how you do it. To set up a Fb Page,

  • Go into your Facebook on your computer and click HOME at the top of your screen. This is your newsfeed as usual.
  • To the left you will see this: screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-11-47-32-am (click on Create Page).
  • You will then see this box pop up: screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-11-48-41-am
  • You then need to click which ever box applies to you. I am a Writer, so I clicked on Artist, Band or Public Page. This is what happened when I clicked on it: screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-11-50-03-am
  • You now need to choose a category. I chose Writer for my Page, but I also have an Artist page for my artwork that I do with my friend Julie, which I named accordingly. So with your single Fb Account you can have a number of different Pages, but for now we are going to stick to one so that we don’t all get confused.
  • I can’t go any further in the process myself as I am not setting up an account. But from here on in it is quite simple. Follow the prompts slowly and read everything on each page.
  • Soon you will find that your Fb Page is active and the bare bones are set up.

Remember that this is all foundations so you don’t have to even add any pictures yet, and you can change the name later. Check out my and other FbPages and see what you like and dislike. Comment below and ask any questions and please share with us anything that you struggled with or found helpful so that you too can pay it forward for the others who read this🙂

Enjoy experimenting and having fun! (and remember to not spread the word yet!). click on things and experiment, ask stuff here and get super comfortable with the whole idea of pages and what you would like yours to look like🙂

Leave a Reply

