Learning Twitter:

img_4365(Repost from my old blog from when I started Twitter):

So today we are going to go through the basics of getting a Twitter account. For me this was the most daunting of all social media and I wish that I knew beforehand that it shouldn’t be. For me I had thought that Facebook was where it was all at and that Twitter was for all the cool beautiful people who have frightened me my whole life. I thought that I would find myself back in school not being good enough or trendy enough or getting squashed and lost under the tide of popularity. I had even decided long ago that Twitter would be a space that I would never go to. So not only am I new to all this, but 2 months ago I was petrified of Twitter and swore that I would never go there… haha..

Now I am exactly 4 months in, have a decent following for such a newbie and I actually enjoy it more than any of the other platforms. But it is completely different to anything else and I had to learn from scratch. I did a ton of research and I played for hours and hours on end before I really did anything.

Like with the other platforms of social media, I decided to be the tortoise not the hare and now I feel like I am very much winning even though I still have so much to learn. So today like yesterday with Facebook, all we are going to do is set you up, but with one major difference. With your FbPage you can sit there quietly and do what you like while you build your page with no down side to staying below the radar. With Twitter on the hand, as soon as you open an account, very soon you will have people following you… so it is very tempting to start getting super involved. It is extremely tempting to think that flying under the radar will be costly. Well that isn’t the case at all. Just like with Facebook, there is nothing but up side to flying low for the first few weeks. Most people start hard and then peter off… we are going to be the tortoise here remember🙂

Remember I explained that our private FbAccounts are a two way valve; you see all your friends and they see you, but that a FbPage is a one way valve only; People can like you but you can’t see them?

Well Twitter is different again, like FbPage it is not a two way valve, but it is not reciprocal like FbAccount either. It is TWO one way valves. In other words, to use the example from yesterday, if Fred wants a personal Twitter account then he would open one and anyone who finds him can follow him. If he wants a PopStar account then he has to open a second account under the name PopStar. They are not linked and they have nothing to do with each other. Everyone can see both, and PopStar can follow people (FbPage can’t), and people can follow PopStar.

If you follow Fred or PopStar (or both), they are under no obligation to follow you back. However, if you follow them, it can be temping to be hurt when they don’t follow you back. And when someone follows you, it can be just as tempting to feel obligated to follow them, so that you don’t leave them feeling hurt. After “taking it slow”, the second strongest advice that I can give is to not feel obligated to follow everyone. Check them out, see what they are doing, and follow them for sure, but if you are not sure about fake accounts and how to tell the difference then wait a while.

Once you set up your Twitter account, please resist this temptation to follow everyone who follows you as there are people with computer programs who are constantly looking for new accounts in the hope of these new accounts following them back. We will go into detail about these accounts once you know a little bit more about what is going on but for now either ignore them completely or if you know how to, you can block them. There will also be people who are hoping that you are a man, and who will follow you under the pretence of being a sexy half naked large breasted girl. These accounts are usually fake and if they are real then they are usually dodgy in some other way. Just know that they can’t do you any harm if you ignore or block them, and should you do so, the logarithms looking for easy targets will move on and you will get less and less of this. But if you give in and follow them back, then you will get more and more of them.

To start a Twitter account simply look up Twitter.com on your computer browser and at the top right corner you will have the option to either sign up or log in. Simply click on sign up.

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-5-24-11-pm

Next you will come to a screen where you can fill in your really basic details:

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-5-25-19-pm

Again it will be quite obvious what to do over the next few screens, and your Profile won’t look dissimilar to your Fb page. I am reminding you again that it is important not to panic now. No one is looking at you, you can’t go far wrong. My Twitter accounts are both a click away below, so feel free to safely check out what mine looks like and once you sign up feel free to put a link to your new Twitter account in the comments below if you would like me to follow you and guide you along from there. As with Facebook yesterday, your only homework before this time next week is to explore what everyone else is doing, enjoy experimenting, play around, work on your Profile pic and cover photos if you are comfortable and ask me anything you like below.

Your WordPress blogs can also automatically post to Twitter, which is a great platform for getting your name and your writing out there!

In the name of paying it forward to other readers, let us know how your experience was so that we can all learn from it🙂

Leave a Reply

