Learning Instagram:

(Repost from my old blog from when I started Twitter):

Instagram (IG) is an interesting platform. I have heard two very different stories about the effectiveness of Instagram and there appear to me to be two very strong camps. The first of course says that if you want to get yourself, your writing, your blogs out there, then you need to use all platforms of Social Media and that includes Instagram. The other school of thought is that yes, you should be using all the platforms, but that Instagram is a waste of time. Use Instagram for your family and dog pics, and everything else for your writers profile.

It is now four months since I started my Writer’s online presence and I have to say, that in terms of bang for your buck, Instagram is hard work. Twitter (0nce you get your head around it) can be fast, simple and in the moment. Your wording is limited, you don’t need a photo, and it is relatively easy to keep up with what is going on. It is easy to “find your tribe” and to connect with a community.

Instagram on the other hand I have found to be much slower. It is all about the photos and you need good ones for people to see you. Once you find your tribe you can definitely build community, but with the same amount of interactions my community on IG is about a 1/4 of the size of my Twitter community and each post takes way longer to put up.

I feel (rightly or wrongly) that my IG community is much more intimate, but I don’t feel as though I am getting my writing or blogging out there much.

So why have I stayed? MY Facebook Page is going slow because I have not been putting much effort into it (but plan to) and what I am enjoying about Instagram is that I link it to the Facebook page. So that even if not much is happening, I am adding pictures and content to my Facebook page every time I Blog, but also every time I take a photo.

To sign up for Instagram simply look up Instgagram.com (or click on that link) and once you have clicked on the sign up button, you can again follow the very basic prompts. It is very much the same procedure as Facebook and Twitter.

screen-shot-2016-10-20-at-2-45-56-pm

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

