Why Have Social Media?

img_7836(Repost from my old blog from when I started Twitter):

All of us have different reasons to having any kind of social media and for me it is to promote my writing (blogging and upcoming books on my personal growth/abuse story) and my art that I do for therapy and enjoyment.

A lot of people have asked me since last week why they should bother with Social Media. The simple answers are that they are the way that people are communicating out there these days. If you don’t want to live under a rock forever, then at some level these can truly add to your life if you do them well and simply. Secondly, they create what is known as your “online presence” and if you write, blog, create, build, have your own business of any kind, then any forum that you are publicly a part of, can be your greatest advertising tool; for free. Now that I am on Twitter and Instagram I rarely pass a shop, a cafe, a plumber or a restaurant without seeing their social media connections posted in a corner somewhere. Like it or not, it is the way of the future.

It can also be a lot of fun. I was in a cafe a month or so ago when the heaven’s opened up and not only was there a huge and sudden downpour, but a massive gust of wind. The whole thing lasted less than ten minutes but people raced in from outside and even inside water was pouring in through air vents and we were all desperately trying to get out of the way of water blowing in. It was quite fun even though it was a hassle and when I posted a pic on Instagram the next day it was fun seeing the pics that others had taken too, all tagging this little cafe. It was a good moment for them and the whole atmosphere of the stories and photos made a good show of community and I am sure was a free bit of advertising for that establishment.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-2-29-21-pmOne of the biggest questions that I get asked about WordPress is how to get our blogs out there to be read and heard and talked about. Simply put, social media is the way to go. If you open your WordPress account and hover over the top left corner, a black box will pop down like this.

Right down near the bottom is the word “Sharing”. If you click on that you will open your sharing options. These sharing options are a “once off” effort that you don’t have to think about again. At the bottom of my post here you can see buttons that people can share this on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter etc. This allows others to share your post even if you don’t have any social media. Here you can very quickly and easily add buttons to your blogs

 

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-2-33-41-pmOn the other hand, if you want to automatically share your blog post with others, then when you are writing your post, you simply click on the downward arrow to the right of “Sharing”. This is a a different kind sharing. This is your connection to automatically share your post on which ever social media YOU want to share it with.

So for example, when I press “Publish” when I have finished writing this post, I have connected to both my Facebook Page and my Twitter accounts (both). So I don’t even have to open either platform and nor do I have to click anything. This box has a button to connect (or disconnect) any social media you have which from then whenever I blog, I Tweet and Facebook at the same time! There is even a box to include a few words of your choice, and if you don’t customise the message that is fine too because it will just use your blog heading🙂

Sometimes you might write a post that you don’t want to share on Twitter, you just click on the box and as it shows up everything that it is going to do, all you have to do is un”tick” the box you don’t want it to go to, and next time it will revert to sending to all your social media platforms.

Leave a Reply

