Glossary of Facebook Terms:

(Repost from my old blog from when I started Twitter):

Here are the “Glossary of terms” for your Facebook Page.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-24-50-pm

Now that I am unpacking and explaining Facebook, I am actually getting a little annoyed with them as I feel that there is way too much duplication of terms and words. Last time we struggled with the issue between our own private Facebook account which the general public refers to as “my Facebook Page” and yet when you create a Facebook Page for a cause or a product or your community, that is what Facebook call a Facebook Page.

Now as I look at the screen shot above from my own FbPAGE, the third word down on the left is HOME which is the exact word that Facebook uses for our Newsfeed, which is a different thing entirely! So I hope that I can get around this and not confuse you in the process…

Facebook Words:

  • HOME (personal account): Ugh, When you are on your personal account OR on your open FbPAGE and you click the Home button that is on the blue bar across the top of your page, near the right, you will always go to your personal Newsfeed. Why they don’t just call it a Newsfeed is beyond me, although this is where you can find all kinds of things down the left which aren’t visible when you are on your Timeline. I am pointing this out because when you are working on your FbPAGE, the blue bar across the top remains the same, it does not change to your PAGE, it remains as your profile. o don’t confuse this Home with the one mentioned above on your PAGE.screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-33-16-pm
  • HOME (FbPAGE): I am now referring again to the first picture that I put up at the very top of this post, when you click on this Home, it takes you to the Timeline of your FbPAGE (not personal account).
  • Personal Timeline or User Profile: This is for your personal page only. AT any time when you click on your own name on the blue bar (I would click on Jennifer there, next to the word Home), it takes me to my own personal Timeline. This is the page that is “me”, what I or others that I allow, post there.
  • Page Name: Under my profile picture at the very top you can see my Page Name “Jennifer Peacock-Smith”. It is my writing name, my author name, but if this page was a business or a band, the Page Name would be the name of your choosing. Mine is my personal name because I am an author but yours might be your stage name, business name, WordPress blog name …whatever you choose.
  • Username: Private Accounts & Profiles are in general simply your own name. There are thousands of John Smiths in the world and all of them can have Facebook Page called John Smith (have fun finding YOUR John Smith) but in many ways it means that you can have a level of secrecy by being one of thousands if you don’t want everyone under the sun to find you. But if you have a FbPAGE, you are able to have a unique Username as well. My FbPAGE has me as my full name (Jennifer Peacock-Smith), and technically I could be one of many, but my username is @JPeaSmith, which is unique. If you want to find my page and know my username, I am easy to find.
  • Tag (& Tagging). This has been a part of Facebook for a long time, and it is a way to alert someone that you are posting about them, or bringing their attention to something that you are including them in. All you used to have to do is use the @ followed by someone’s Facebook name and a link would automatically connect and alert both them and their friends. It has gone under some changes in the last few years and they are important to note if you want to use them: The first is that you no longer use the @ to tag someone, you simply start typing their name and the option of tagging them appears which you can click on or ignore. The second change however is only relevant to Usernames which are only used on pages. If you want to tag me personally to your post, then you just do what I said in number 1, however if you want to tag my FbPAGE, then using my NAME (even the name of my page) won’t work, but using my Username (which has a @ in it already) works.
  • Followers: As explained last week, a private Facebook account has friends only. This means that all connections go both ways. But FbPAGEs only have followers. These are the people who “like” your page, and when they do so, they become a follower of your page. Your page will appear on their newsfeed and they will feel that they are part of the community that is interested in you. If you want to get your name, your business, your blog out there, you need people to follow you. If you link your FbPAGE to your blog to automatically post each time you blog, then you are now tapping into the Facebook community who might otherwise not know about your blog…
Leave a Reply

