Interview with author Alex Carver

mollyHi Alex, it’s nice to meet you. I see that you write under your pen name, are you able to still tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m 30 ish (with the emphasis on ish) in need of exercise, though I blame that on sitting at a computer all day, and I have an occasionally perverse sense of humour. I have also recently been identified as being autistic, which has helped me to understand my social difficulties, if not overcome them.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing for over 25 years now, this is my 2nd go as a published author.

What do you write about?

Primarily I write crime fiction, set in England, but I also write sci-fi, and children’s mystery/adventure.

What is your greatest achievement in writing so far?

During my 1st time as a published author I had the pleasure of spending 5 weeks in a row at the top of the kindle drama chart; at another time and with another book I reached the top 30 of the Nook charts.

What is your greatest dream?

Tough question, on a writing level I would love to sell enough books on a monthly basis to pay my bills and live comfortably. Outside of writing, I would love to go back to Egypt for another trip and visit Macchu Picchu in Peru.

What is your greatest personal writing highlight, even if it isn’t a monetary one?

When I was published previously I received a review that compared my book to something written by Karen Rose or Karin Slaughter; reviews are subjective of course, but it was still wonderful to be compared to such well-known authors.

What advice would you give to someone new to writing?

I’m never keen on this question because I don’t feel I have been published for long enough, I don’t have the experience to really advise someone; that said, I would suggest anyone interested in writing as a career should write from the heart, and fact-check wherever necessary.

Some authors also blog, do you? 

I do, https://arcbookblog.wordpress.com is where I can be found, I review when I can, write articles related to crime and my autism, and blog about anything else that takes my interest.

Do you do any social media?

I have a twitter account, but that’s it, I’m not good with social media, I find it a little overwhelming and hard to get to grips with.

Lastly, who are your writing heroes? 

Jeffrey Archer, Tom Clancy, and George RR Martin

2016-852 eBook Alex R Carvel, A Will.jpg

Where Jennifer hangs out: Blog | The Mighty | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads | Amazon

@JPeaSmith
“Here she comes, running, out of prison and off the pedestal: chains off, crown off, halo off, just a live woman.”  ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Leave a Reply

