Who is Carole P Roman?

cprI met Carole over on Goodreads, and asked her if she would share some of her author story with us, so here she is in her own words:
I started writing on a dare from my sons. One of them had written a self-help book that was flying up the Amazon rankings much to our surprise. We didn’t encourage him to write it, but he did, published it and it became linked with another best-seller. I have a life-long passion for reading, so they both attacked me as soon as I came in. “Look what Michael did- you could do that too!”- kind of thing. They didn’t stop all day, or at night, the calls kept coming in. I wrote Captain No Beard An Imaginary Tale of a Pirate’s Life, late at night, thinking it would appease them. When I arrived to work the next morning, they both got on Createspace, picked an artist, the wonderful and creative Bonnie Lemaire, and got the ball rolling. I still wasn’t all that excited. It wasn’t Gone with the Wind, it was a kid’s book. Big deal, I thought. Anybody could do that. About a month after it was published, my publishing consultant from Createspace contacted me. He was over the moon. Captain No Beard was given the Kirkus Star of Excellence and was named as one of Kirkus Best for 2012.  I accepted his congratulations not quite understanding how special this was, that I actually hit it out of the park on the first one. Nine more books in the series followed, each one decorated with awards from all different sources. This began my journey into the world of publishing and I am now fully planted and having the time of my life.

My husband was thrilled and told me to do more. I was a social studies teacher over forty years ago. I decided to do another series, an introduction to culture for small children to understand the world around them. I will admit my husband had more faith in the project than I did. Captain No Beard was full of fun and adventure. Only I got excited about history and culture, while most everyone else’s eyes glazed over. I thought about what a child would find interesting about how people live, what makes us different, what unites us. This series took off, outselling the fiction series by a landslide. I just completed the 21 book in the series and people are asking for more.  The newest book in the series has headed for the stars and explores life on Mars.

I expanded the series to include History for older children. With the same concept of seeing the facts through the eyes of someone their age, we explore pivotal times in the world. The books demystify history, making it easy for kids to understand the how and why things happen.

Lastly, I did a nursery series that I adore. It is a love letter to my kids and grandkids and very personal. Those who know me will understand. Those that don’t will still get a lot from these books as they were written from my heart.

I took on the publicity for both my son’s 17 books as well as my own. I explored various ways to keep them selling. This lead to me asking my media consultant and friend, Julie Gerber, from Away We Go Media to co-author a book about our experiences writing, marketing, and promoting indie books.  It’s an easy guide to spare the next guy from wasting his time on things that don’t work and concentrate on the resources that do.
I learned that I can pretty much do anything I want to do. Being female or older or anything else that iI can think of won’t stop someone who has the determination to accomplish something. I am in a place where most people are contemplating slowing down. All I can say is my foot is firmly on the gas pedal and pressing down!
You can find her on Goodreads, Amazon, Twitter, Facebook, or her Blog.
if-you-were-me-and-lived-on-mars
Where Jennifer hangs out: Blog | The Mighty | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads | Amazon

@JPeaSmith
“Here she comes, running, out of prison and off the pedestal: chains off, crown off, halo off, just a live woman.”  ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman
2 thoughts on “Who is Carole P Roman?

Leave a Reply

