Yes to Grammarly!

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-1-04-18-pmAs most of you know, I don’t push products in general and you cannot pay me for an endorsement. I either believe in something whole-heartedly, and then I am happy to share that with you for free, or else I don’t say anything at all (unless I pay for it and hate it, then you will know about that too haha).

But the last week I have been using Grammarly. First the free and then the paid version. I so wish that I had found this earlier, it really has made a massive difference! Don’t get me wrong, I still have to do all the work, but unlike a human eye which misses things, this doesn’t. I get to put my quirky words into the personal dictionary, so I don’t have to argue with it about the same thing over and over, but the little things are picked up so easily, and I am actually learning as I go and my writing is improving dramatically!

I am dyslexic and autocorrect hates me, so the first big difference for me is that Grammarly picks up my mistakes but doesn’t go ahead without me and change them to something stupid! I can look at my mistake and see what I did wrong. I can’t change my dyslexia, but because of it I often leave out a word or repeat a single word twice. I don’t see that and when I reread my eyes read it on proofreading, it reads what it THINKS it says.

You don’t have to be dyslexic to read things badly. You have all seen the facebook meme that regularly does the round, where the letters in each word are mixed up but the first and last letter are correct. The brain adjusts and you can easily read it, but each word is actually a jumbled mess.

So even if you have a fabulous editor, do her a favour and run everything through Grammarly first. It is better for everyone. I would rather spend my editing bucks on getting the bigger picture right and saving the nitty gritty for a computer program who won’t miss anything.

img_9243
Where Jennifer hangs out: 
@JPeaSmith 
“Here she comes, running, out of prison and off the pedestal: chains off, crown off, halo off, just a live woman.”  ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman
2 thoughts on “Yes to Grammarly!

Leave a Reply

